Daily Archives: June 26, 2008

Cameron Piorek: Rehabilitation At The International Center for Spinal Cord Injury at the Kennedy Krieger Institute in Baltimore, Maryland

Cameron will still be released on Thursday from St. Jude, but he will NOT be going home to Laguna Niguel. Instead, he will be staying at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Brea Thursday, Friday and Saturday night. On Sunday, he and Brandon and his Grandparents will board a plane and head off to The International Center for Spinal Cord Injury at the Kennedy Krieger Institute in Baltimore, Maryland. This is the center that treated Christopher Reeve and it a leading center in the world for spinal cord recovery and rehabilitation. It was a huge victory for Kelly to get this opportunity and a VERY special Thank You goes out to all of the people who helped make this happen. For more information on the center, please go to their website at http://www.spinalcordrecovery.org/

While at the center, Cameron will undergo four to five hours of VERY intensive rehabilitation therapy every day for the next three weeks. He will then return home for an addtional six weeks of treatment at the St. Jude Outpatient Center in Brea. It is hoped that he can then begin rehabilitation at Project Walk in Carlsbad, California.

In addtion to all of his rehabilitation, Cameron will also be catching up on his school work. At this point, he will only need to complete the work for his World History class. He is looking forward to September, when he can resume classes at Aliso Niguel High School with his classmates as a JUNIOR!!

The Piorek’s are still planning on having a coming home party for Cameron, but it will now be rescheduled for when he comes home from Baltimore.

Please continue to keep Cameron, and his family, in your prayers !!

The Orange County Register will be coming to the Embassy Suites on Saturday to interview Cameron and take pictures of him with his flag. They will be featuring Cameron on the front page of the Aliso Niguel News, which is published by the OC Register. It is distributed on Thursdays, so look for it either next week or the following week. Whichever week it is printed, the same article will also be printed in the Sunday paper of that week.

San Diego Hall of Champions Announces 2008 High School Girls All-County and All-Section Teams

 Selected by league coaches under the auspices of the San Diego Hall of Champions. Selection committees can recognize athletes in excess of the authorized number, but only those whose names will appear on the Hall of Champions certificates are listed below.

North County Conference
First team – Tara Arolla (La Costa Canyon) Sr.; Ashley Inman (Poway) Jr.; Jackie Candelaria (La Costa Canyon) Jr.; Becky Trees (Torrey Pines) Jr.; Tori Cameron (Torrey Pines) Sr.; Kelly Jablonski (Poway) Sr.; Liz Donahue (Poway) Sr.; Melanie Garces (Westview) Sr.; Taylor Fiehler (Valley Center) Jr.; Anne Morgan Yeatman (Rancho Bernardo) Jr.; Brooke Smith (Carlsbad) Jr.; Haleh Nourani (La Costa Canyon) Sr.
Second team – Mailin McCormley (Westview) Sr.; Torre Price (Valley Center) Jr.; Holly Hayes (Westview) So.; Anessa Jamison (Poway) Sr.; Samantha Slattery (Carlsbad) Jr.; Alexa Golden (Torrey Pines) Jr.; Katie Trees (Torrey Pines) Fr.; Erin Menefee (Mt. Carmel) So.; Kristen Sondag (La Costa Canyon) Jr.; Liza Dutcher (Rancho Bernardo) Jr.; Barb Thunder (La Costa Canyon) Sr.; Lauren Carter (Poway) Sr.
Player of Year – Tara Arolla (La Costa Canyon).                                                             Tara Arolla

League champion – La Costa Canyon.

City Conference
First team – Melissa Humphrey (Coronado) Jr.; Hannah Sebenaler (Coronado) Sr.; Greer Goebels (Coronado) Sr.; Bria Phillips (Coronado) Sr.; Alyssa Litten (Coronado) Sr.; Margaret Nettleton (La Jolla) Jr.; Mia Cohen (La Jolla) Sr.; Mackenzie Gloven (La Jolla); Jr.; Megan Moser (Patrick Henry) Sr.; Lauren Nardi (Cathedral Catholic) So.; Tawni Gotbaum (Cathedral Catholic) Sr.; Gina Holslag (Scripps Ranch) Jr.
Second team – Kristen Dillard (Patrick Henry) Sr.; Anna Ponting (Patrick Henry) Jr; Nicole Fleury (Patrick Henry) Jr.; Shelly Scarborough (Patrick Henry) Jr.; Alex Botte (Cathedral Catholic) Sr.; Alex Weiss (Serra) Sr.; Lainey Mebust (Coronado) So.; Kristen Krock (Coronado) Jr.; Annette Pulliam (La Jolla) Sr.; Megan Blahnik (Cathedral Catholic) Sr.; Kaitlin Phillips (Cathedral Catholic) Sr.; Katie Kuhnert (Cathedral Catholic) Jr.
Player of Year – Greer Goebels (Coronado).                                                                 Greer Goebels

League champion – Coronado.

Grossmont Conference
First team – Dana Harvey (Helix) Sr.; Melissa DeJack (Helix) Sr.; Jill Stafford (Grossmont) Sr.; JoAnn Stoddard (Grossmont) Sr.; Kacie Lewis (Granite Hills) Jr.; Caroline Poleshak (Granite Hills) Sr.; Alanna Parker (Monte Vista) Jr.; Samantha Anderson (Monte Vista) Jr.; Matti Miller (Santana) Jr.; Marin Martinez (Santana) So.
Second team – Himiko Randolph (Helix) Sr.; Alexandra Reardon (Helix) Jr.; Bonnie Alexander (Grossmont) Jr.; Rowan Dionisopoulos (Grossmont) Jr.; Jill Bejar (Granite Hills) Sr.; Julie Miller (Granite Hills) Sr.; Heather Penfold (Monte Vista) Jr.; Hannah O’Gara (Monte Vista) So.; Sea-Anna Thompson (Santana) Sr.; Alyssa Padgerg (Santana) So.
Player of Year – Dana Harvey (Helix).
League champion – Helix.

Coastal Conference
First team – Kaihla Corso (Santa Fe Christian) Sr.; Nicole Wimsatt (Santa Fe Christian) So.; Tiffany Su (Canyon Crest) Jr.; Tace Higuchi (Canyon Crest) Fr.; Erin Keitel (Francis Parker) Sr.; Amanda Martin (Francis Parker) Sr.; Brooke Norling (San Dieguito) Sr.; Elizabeth Siemion (San Dieguito) Jr.; Jacqueline Rhodes (Bishop’s) Sr.; Ali Bishop (Bishop’s) Jr.; Hillary Halter (Bishop’s) So.; Sophia Mueller (Bishop’s) So.
Second team – Sean Znachko (San Dieguito) Jr.; Charlotte Huguenor (Santa Fe Christian) Jr.; Ashley Bertz (Francis Parker) Jr.; Rachel Niddrie (Francis Parker) Sr.; Chelsea Jensen (Francis Parker) So.; Shayla Malauulu (Francis Parker) Sr.; Laura Bernard (Canyon Crest) Sr.; Olivia Jacobs (Canyon Crest) Sr.; Heidi Curry (Canyon Crest) Sr.; Jamison Kearney (Bishop’s) Jr.; Haley Geier (Bishop’s) Jr.; Jodi Morris (La Jolla Country Day) So.
Player of Year – Erin Keitel (Francis Parker).
League champions – Bishops, Francis Parker.

 Selected by San Diego Section Advisory Committee with input from coaches under the auspices of the San Diego Hall of Champions.
First team – Greer Goebels (Coronado) Sr.; Bria Phillips (Coronado) Sr.; Melissa Humphrey (Coronado) Sr.; Hannah Sebenaler (Coronado) Sr.; Tara Arolla (La Costa Canyon) Sr.; Haleh Nourani (La Costa Canyon) Sr.; Jackie Candelaria (La Costa Canyon) Jr.; Stephanie Ullrich (La Costa Canyon) Sr.; Becky Trees (Torrey Pines) Jr.; Kelly Jablonski (Poway) Sr.; Elizabeth Donahue (Poway) Sr.; Mackenzie Gloven (La Jolla) Jr.
Second team – Alyssa Littin (Coronado) Sr.; Erin Keitel (Francis Parker) Sr.; Dana Harvey (Helix) Sr.; Barbara Thunder (La Costa Canyon) Sr.; Kristen Sondag (La Costa Canyon) Jr.; Tori Cameron (Torrey Pines) Sr.; Mara Harry (Torrey Pines) Sr.; Anessa Jamison (Poway) Sr.; Alanna Parker (Monte Vista) Jr.; Gina Holslag (Scripps Ranch) Jr.; Brooke Norling (San Dieguito) Sr.; Mia Cohen (La Jolla) Sr.
Player of Year – Tara Arolla (La Costa Canyon).
Section champion – La Costa Canyon.