Daily Archives: June 22, 2009

Team USA Women’s Lacrosse Defeats World Champion Australia 10-9 In 2009 World Cup Round 4 Game

team usa women's lacrosse

The United States upset defending world champion Australia, 10-9, in a thrilling victory at the 2009 Federation of International Lacrosse World Cup in Prague. After falling behind 5-0 early and entering halftime with a 9-4 deficit, the U.S. rallied and shut out the Australians in the second half, carefully chipping away at the lead.


Acacia Walker (2g) (Sherwood Forest, Md./Maryland ’05) equalized the game on a free position at 7:45, and Sarah Albrecht (3g) (Braintree, Mass./Northwestern ’06) scored the game-winner minutes later on an assist from Caroline Cryer (1g, 2a) (Centennial, Colo./Duke ’09). Six different players scored in a balanced offensive effort from the Americans.


Megan Huether (Lutherville, Md./Duke ’06) relieved starting goalie Devon Wills (3 saves) ( Denver , Colo. / Dartmouth ’06) to start the second half and anchored the shut-out with six saves.


First place United States now stands 4-0 and will enter quarterfinals Wednesday at 10:00 a.m. EST (4:00 p.m. Prague time) against the winner of the “Play In” match between Ireland and the Czech Republic .



USA: Sarah Albrecht (3g); Katie Rowan (2g, 1a); Acacia Walker (2g); Caroline Cryer (1g, 2a); Michelle DeJuliis (1g, 1a); Kristen Kjellman (1g); Lindsey Munday (2a); Caitlyn McFadden (1a); Katie Chrest (1a); Megan Huether (6 saves); Devon Wills (3 saves).


AUS: Stacey Morlang (3g, 1a); Jen Adams (2g); Hannah Nielsen (1g, 2a); Cassandra Cursaro (1g); Courtney Inge (1g); Marlee Paton (1g); Meredith Carre (1a).



Pool A

United States 10, Australia 9

England 20, Japan 3


Pool B

Wales 10, Scotland 6

Czech Republic 15, New Zealand 3


Pool C

Ireland 12, Haudenosaunee 6

Denmark 15, Korea 2

Netherlands 17, Austria 2


The U.S. women’s national teams program is coordinated by US Lacrosse, the national governing body of the sport. deBeer Lacrosse is the official exclusive equipment and apparel supplier to the U.S. women’s national teams program.