Team USA Women’s Lacrosse Defeats Australia 8-7 To Win 2009 FIL Women’s World Cup Lacrosse Championship

teamusasarahbullardwordcup09bannerThe U.S. defeated Australia, 8-7, in the final game of the 2009 Federation of International Lacrosse World Cup. Team USA goalie Devon Wills (Denver, Colo./Dartmouth ’06) made seven saves and had three ground balls to earn Player of the Match honors. Caroline Cryer (Centennial, Colo./Duke ’09) led the U.S. in scoring with three goals. This is the sixth time that the U.S. has won the World Cup, and the fourth time they have defeated the Australians in the final.

Australia struck first when Melissa Williams (2g) caught a feed from Jen Adams (1g, 2a) at 25:49. The first half went back and forth between the two teams, with three ties and two lead changes, ending with a 3-3 tie at the break.

Team USA came out swinging in the second half with 5 unanswered goals, creating the largest lead of the game. Then, Australia gained momentum at 4:53 when U.S. goalie Wills received a yellow card for a push on Australian attacker Marlee Paton (1g). Melissa Williams scored on an open net on a free position to narrow the gap to 8-5. U.S. backup goalie Meghan Huether (Lutherville, Md./Duke ’06) entered the game for Wills as she served her 3 minute penalty. Australia rallied back with another goal to make it 8-6. Then, with just under two-minutes in the game, Heather Williams scored her second to create a one-goal game. U.S maintained possession for the next minute, running the clock down to preserve the win.

After a grueling two weeks of World Cup play, U.S. won the gold, Australia the silver and Canada the bronze.

The FIL World Cup takes place every four years. In 2005, when the championships were held in Annapolis, Md., Australia took home the gold, leaving the U.S. with the silver. Team USA is now 6-time World Cup champions (1982, 1989, 1993, 1997, 2001, 2009). 

USA: Caroline Cryer (3g); Kristen Kjellman (1g, 1a); Sarah Albrecht (1g); Sarah Bullard (1g); Lindsey Munday (1g); Michele DeJuliis (1g); Caitlyn McFadden (2a); Katie Rowan (1a). Devon Wills (7 saves). Megan Huether (1 save).

AUSTRALIA: Jen Adams (1g, 2a); Melissa Williams (2g); Hannah Nielsen (1g, 1a); Stacey Morlang (1g); Courtney Inge (1g); Marlee Paton (1g). Sue McSolvin (8 saves).

1. USA   
2. Australia
3. Canada   
4. England
5. Ireland
6. Wales
7. Japan
8. Scotland
9. Czech Republic
10. Germany
11. Haudenosaunee
12. New Zealand
13. Netherlands
14. Austria
15. Denmark
16. South Korea

The U.S. women’s national teams program is administered by US Lacrosse, the national governing body of the sport. deBeer Lacrosse is the official exclusive equipment and apparel supplier to the U.S. women’s national teams program.

Colleen Sperry Aungst
Public Relations Manager, US Lacrosse
CELL: (315) 427-9265
113 W. University Pkwy.
Baltimore, MD 21210

One response to “Team USA Women’s Lacrosse Defeats Australia 8-7 To Win 2009 FIL Women’s World Cup Lacrosse Championship

  1. I like this post. Hope you to post useful article soon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s