Daily Archives: November 2, 2009

2010 U.S. Men’s Lacrosse National Team Announced: 23 Players Selected For Federation Of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Championships In England On July 14-24, 2010

US Lacrosse TeamA Ryan Boyle – Boston Cannons (Princeton ’04)
M Kevin Cassese – Boston Cannons (Duke ’03)
D Joe Cinosky – Toronto Nationals (Maryland ’08)
M/A Ned Crotty – Duke ’09
M Kyle Dixon – Washington Bayhawks (Virginia ’06)
G Brian Dougherty – Long Island Lizards (Maryland ’96)
D DJ Driscoll – Chicago Machine (Notre Dame ’06)
G Adam Fullerton – Denver Outlaws (Army ’08)
A Mike Leveille – Chicago Machine (Syracuse ’08)
D Eric Martin – Denver Outlaws (Salisbury ’04)
D Ryan McClay – Boston Cannons (Cornell ’03)
A Brendan Mundorf – Denver Outlaws (UMBC ’06)
D Shawn Nadelen – Washington Bayhawks (Johns Hopkins ’01)
M Stephen Peyser – Long Island Lizards (Johns Hopkins ’08)
A Ryan Powell – Big Foot LC (Syracuse ’00)
M Paul Rabil – Boston Cannons (Johns Hopkins ’08)
M Chris Schiller – Sailin’ Shoe LC (Penn State ’99)
M Max Seibald – Denver Outlaws (Cornell ’09)
M Alex Smith – Washington Bayhawks (Delaware ’07)
M Matt Striebel – Chicago Machine (Princeton ’01)
D Kyle Sweeney – Boston Cannons (Georgetown ’03)
A Drew Westervelt – Denver Outlaws (UMBC ’07)
M Matt Zash – Long Island Lizards (Duke ’06)

US Lacrosse announced Monday the final roster for the 2010 U.S. men’s national team. The training team roster of 41 was narrowed down to the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL)-mandated size of 23 players after three fall exhibition weekends in West Point, N.Y., Annapolis, Md. and Stony Brook, N.Y. All 23 players, selected by the coaching staff, will compete in the FIL World Championships in Manchester, England from July 14-24, 2010.

“I want to congratulate the entire pool of players on their efforts, attitude and stellar play over three tremendous weekends this fall,” said Team USA head coach Mike Pressler. “Without question, this was the best way to go in this thorough and, at times, exhausting process. We feel these 23 men give us the best chance to win the gold at the 2010 world championship in Manchester.”

Pressler added, “I want to thank all 41 players for their professionalism, their attention to detail and their sacrifice. We took these guys away from their families, jobs and children to compete in three additional weekends that have never been done before. Speaking for our coaching staff, we are very grateful to each of them for all their efforts.”

 “We are extremely pleased with the selection process,” said Howie Borkan, chair of the US Lacrosse men’s national teams committee. “The tryouts, the fall clinics and games have been well received and have provided the coaching staff with the opportunity to select the best team possible.”

The 2010 U.S. men’s national team includes five members of the 2006 U.S. men’s team that finished as runner-up to Canada at the world championship: Ryan Boyle, Kevin Cassese, Ryan Powell, Matt Striebel and Kyle Sweeney. Boyle, Cassese and Striebel were also members of the gold medal-winning 2002 U.S. men’s team.

Since the first recognized international championship in 1967, the U.S. has won eight gold medals, most recently in 2002. 

The team’s first appearance together will be at the 2010 US Lacrosse National Convention in Baltimore, Md., Jan. 15-17, followed by their first on-field competition together at the 2010 Champion Challenge at Disney’s Wide World of Sports in Orlando, Fla. against Duke and Army, Jan. 30-31.