Daily Archives: June 4, 2010

NCAA Women’s Lacrosse: Maryland Sr. Midfielder Caitlyn McFadden Wins 2010 Tewaaraton Trophy As Nation’s Top Women’s Lacrosse Player

Just as the NCAA Championship trophy did last Sunday, the Tewaaraton Award has returned to College Park as senior Caitlyn McFadden was named the top player in the nation Thursday.

McFadden leaves Maryland as one of the best players in its storied program’s history. The Phoenix, Md., native finished her career third on Maryland’s career assists list with 110 and sixth in points with 259. She wrapped up her illustrious career by garnering NCAA Most Outstanding Player honors, guiding the Terps to the NCAA Championship title for the first time since 2001. She scored two goals and defensively held Northwestern’s Katrina Dowd scoreless to lift the Terps in the title match.

McFadden is the second Terp to garner the award since its inception in 2001. Jen Adams captured the first Tewaaraton.

For more:   http://www.umterps.com/sports/w-lacros/spec-rel/060310aaa.html

NCAA Men’s Lacrosse: Duke Sr. Attackman Ned Crotty Wins 2010 Tewaaraton Trophy As Nation’s Top Lacrosse Player

Duke University senior attackman Ned Crotty was named the recipient of the 2010 Tewaaraton Trophy as the nation’s top men’s lacrosse player. Crotty

Duke attacker Ned Crotty finished the 2010 season as the nation's leader in assists (3.15/gm) and fourth in points (4.3/gm). He amassed 63 assists, breaking the Duke single-season record of 56 previously held by Danowski. His 63 helpers also rank 10th in NCAA single season history. A native of New Vernon, N.J., Crotty led all Division I players with a career-best 86 points to rank sixth in Duke single-season history. Photo courtesy of Duke athletics.

collected the award at a banquet at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian.

Crotty is Duke’s second Tewaaraton Trophy winner after Matt Danowski collected the award in 2007. The other finalists included Ken Clausen (Virginia), Kevin Crowley (Stony Brook), Curtis Dickson (Delaware) and Joel White (Syracuse). Crotty also was a finalist in 2009.

A three-time United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) All-America choice, including a two-time first team selection, Crotty recently helped lead the Blue Devils to the 2010 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship. In the NCAA Tournament, he totaled a team-high 18 points from six goals and 12 assists. He provided the game-winning assist in the NCAA Semifinal win over Virginia.

For more:   http://www.goduke.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=4200&ATCLID=204954915

Best Of New Jersey High School Boys Lacrosse: Summit (22-0) Defeated Ridge 11-4 On June 2 (Video)

Date Opponent Result
4/01 RANDOLPH   W, 12-5
4/03 at Delbarton   W, 3-1
4/07 at St Joseph’s Prep   W, 8-4
4/09 at Westfield   W, 9-7
4/12 A.L.JOHNSON-CLARK   W, 16-2
4/17 at West Morris Central   W, 6-2
4/19 at Columbia   W, 12-1
4/22 SETON HALL PREP   W, 14-1
4/24 at Madison   W, 12-3
4/26 NEW PROVIDENCE   W, 15-1
4/28 MENDHAM   W, 13-1
5/01 CHATHAM   W, 7-2
5/05 RIDGEWOOD   W, 10-3
5/07 at West Essex Regional   W, 12-4
5/12 CRANFORD   W, 12-0
5/14 vs. Westfield   W, 7-2
5/18 MANASQUAN   W, 14-1
5/20 RUMSON-FAIR HAVEN   W, 13-2
5/22 MOUNTAIN LAKES   W, 9-2
5/26 vs. Madison   W, 10-4
6/02 vs. Ridge   W, 11-4
6/05 vs. St Joseph Metuchen    
Coach: Jim Davidson

The Best Of NCAA Men’s Lacrosse: Duke Men’s Lacrosse Captures 2010 National Championship (Photo)