Daily Archives: June 14, 2010

Oregon High School Girls Lacrosse: Oregon Chapter Of US Lacrosse Names All-Americans


1st Team All-Americans:

Allie Debruhl is a senior at Lakeridge HS and is coached by Jessica Voas.  Allie will  attend and play lacrosse at St. Mary’s College in the fall of 2010. Honors: 1st Team All-League TRL and All-State in 2009 and 2010, 2009 WDNT.

Kendall Guthrie
is a senior from Lake Oswego HS coached by Lauren Anderson  and Amy Einstein.  Guthrie will attend and play lacrosse at Indiana Tech in the fall.  Honors: 2009 US Lacrosse Honorable Mention All-American, 2010 1st Team All-League TRL and 1st Team All-State.

Honorable Mention All-Americans:
Haley Fauvelle is a senior at Lakeridge HS coached by Jessica Voas.  Haley will attend  and play lacrosse at Savannah College of Art and Design. Honors: 2010 1st Team All-League TRL, 2nd Team All-State.

Meghan Johnson is a senior at Lakeridge HS coached by Jessica Voas, will attend and  play lacrosse at UC Davis.  Honors: 2010 1st Team All-League TRL, 1st Team All-State.

Dana Kilsby, a junior at Lake Oswego is coached by Lauren Anderson and Amy  Einstein. Honors: 2010 2nd Team All-League TRL and 2009 WDNT team.

Holly Cisneros is a junior at Oregon City HS and coached by Dara Kramer.   Honors: 2010 1st Team All-League TRL, 1st Team All-State and 2009 WDNT team.

Fiona Dearth, a junior at Wilson HS is coached by Sarah Bromley.  Honors: 2010  1st Team All-League PIL, 2010 PIL Player of the Year, 2010 1st Team All-State, 2009 WDNT. 

Academic All-Americans:
The following 19 Oregon high school junior and senior women have achieved Academic   All-Americans status from US Lacrosse. Recipients are starters or significant contributors  to their varsity lacrosse teams, have earned a weighted GPA of 3.6 or higher with over 50 percent of classes at  the Advanced Placement, Honors or International Baccalaureate level,  and have made significant contributions to their schools and/or communities outside of athletics.  Players with multiple year Academic All-American awards are shown in italic.         

Academic All-Americans:

Kelly Bartz
Lakeridge High School

Susanna Cai
Sunset High School

Caitlin Clark
Lakeridge High School

Fiona Dearth
Wilson High School

Emily Hacker
Marist High School

Audrey Hart
Marist High School

McKenzie Hessel
Wilson High School

Alissa Johnston
Lake Oswego High School

Meghan Jordan
Lakeridge High School

Tessa Keuler
Oregon City High School

Dana Kilsby
Lake Oswego High School

Colleen Manning
Beaverton High School

Kathryn McCaslin
Wilson High School

Emily Schultz
St. Mary’s Academy

Brittany Scrugham
Lake Oswego High School

Megan Swindells
Lake Oswego High School

Chris Tawney
St. Mary’s Academy

Helen Walters
Marist High School

Kayla Warfield
Oregon Episcopal School

All nominations for All-American and Academic All-American awards were submitted to  and confirmed by US Lacrosse.  Nominees in all categories will be recognized locally and nationally by US Lacrosse associations and will receive certificates for their achievements.

The Oregon Chapter of US Lacrosse and the Oregon Girl’s Lacrosse Association (OGLA)  are proud of the outstanding achievements of these players.  Lacrosse is the fastest growing  sport in America and Oregon is quickly gaining recognition for both girl’s and boy’s high school teams.  Oregon girl’s lacrosse has grown to 38 varsity teams playing across the state.  Elementary and Middle school teams continue to build the base of strong players fueling the  explosion of talented high school players.

For more:   http://www.oregongirlslax.com/

Best Of New Jersey High School Boys Lacrosse: Summit Boys Lacrosse (23-0) Defeated St. Joseph Metuchen (23-2) 6-1 To Win New Jersey “Tournament Of Champions” State Title (Video)

Dan Feeney had two goals and one assist and Sonny Round scored twice to lead Summit, No. 1 in The Star-Ledger Top 20, to a 6-1 victory over St. Joseph (Met.) in the final of the NJSIAA/New Balance Tournament of Champions on Saturday before 3,204 at Rutgers’ Yurcak Field in Piscataway.

Summit (23-0) came close to recording its third shutout of the season, but Ed Lubowicki scored with 1:57 remaining in regulation for St. Joseph (23-2), which suffered its first loss to in-state competition this season.

For more:  http://highschoolsports.nj.com/news/article/-8569532131413902369/nj-boys-lacrosse-summit-beats-st-joseph-for-tournament-of-champions-crown/

Date Opponent Result
4/01 RANDOLPH   W, 12-5
4/03 at Delbarton   W, 3-1
4/07 at St Joseph’s Prep   W, 8-4
4/09 at Westfield   W, 9-7
4/12 A.L.JOHNSON-CLARK   W, 16-2
4/17 at West Morris Central   W, 6-2
4/19 at Columbia   W, 12-1
4/22 SETON HALL PREP   W, 14-1
4/24 at Madison   W, 12-3
4/26 NEW PROVIDENCE   W, 15-1
4/28 MENDHAM   W, 13-1
5/01 CHATHAM   W, 7-2
5/05 RIDGEWOOD   W, 10-3
5/07 at West Essex Regional   W, 12-4
5/12 CRANFORD   W, 12-0
5/14 vs. Westfield   W, 7-2
5/18 MANASQUAN   W, 14-1
5/20 RUMSON-FAIR HAVEN   W, 13-2
5/22 MOUNTAIN LAKES   W, 9-2
5/26 vs. Madison   W, 10-4
6/02 vs. Ridge   W, 11-4
6/05 vs. St Joseph Metuchen   W, 6-1
Coach: Jim Davidson

New York High School Boys Lacrosse: West Islip Boys Lacrosse (21-1) Defeated Fairport In New York Class A Boys Lacrosse State Championship Game

North Carolina-bound Nick Galasso scored once and had six assists for Section XI’s West Islip in its 13-5 win over Fairport in the Class A boys lacrosse state final at SUNY Stony Brook.

“We played hard for a half and then they kicked it into another gear. They were phenomenal offensively, they can do a lot of things because they’re so athletic, and they have the No. 1 recruit in the country,” said Fairport coach Mike Torrelli, referring to Galasso.

The game was tied 5-5 in the second quarter; the Lions (21-1) outscored Fairport 7-0 in the third quarter.

For more:  http://www.democratandchronicle.com/article/20100613/SPORTS08/6130354/1007/SPORTS

Date Opponent Result
3/31 SACHEM NORTH   L,  13-12 (OT)
4/03 CHAMINADE   W, 10-7
4/07 at Sachem East   W, 14-2
4/09 at Smithtown East   W, 10-6
4/15 at East Islip   W, 16-9
4/17 at Ridgewood   W, 10-5
4/19 BAY SHORE   W, 12-4
4/21 at Smithtown West   W, 13-3
4/23 WILLIAM FLOYD   W, 14-9
4/27 CONNETQUOT   W, 16-9
4/29 at West Babylon   W, 13-1
5/05 WARD MELVILLE   W, 16-5
5/11 WALT WHITMAN   W, 18-7
5/13 at Lindenhurst   W, 19-7
5/17 at Northport   W, 17-5
5/25 WALT WHITMAN   W, 16-4
5/28 CONNETQUOT   W, 13-9
6/03 vs. Ward Melville   W, 16-9
6/08 vs. Farmingdale   W, 13-1
6/10 vs. Lakeland/Panas   W, 20-10
6/12 vs. Fairport   W, 13-5
Coach: Scott Craig

NCAA Men’s Lacrosse: 2010 National Champion Duke Men’s Lacrosse