Legends Of Lacrosse: Princeton Men’s Lacrosse Goalie Scott Bacigalupo Led Tigers To 1992 And 1994 NCAA National Championships (Video)

Bill Tierney talks about the impact recent Hall of Fame inductee Scott Bacigalupo had in jumpstarting Princeton’s 1990s lacrosse dynasty.

While Scott Bacigalupo was establishing himself as a high school star in Baltimore, the Princeton men’s lacrosse team was putting together seasons of 3-12 in 1987, 2-13 in 1988 and 6-8 in 1989. Despite that, Bacigalupo decided to sign on with the Tiger program and its new coach, and the rest has literally become lacrosse history.

Bacigalupo, the cornerstone of the foundation of the Princeton lacrosse dynasty, has been selected to the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, the U.S. Lacrosse Board of Directors announced today.

Bacigalupo will be part of the eight-member class of 2010, which will be inducted this coming Oct. 30.

With his induction, Bacigalupo will be the 13th Princetonian to be in the National Hall of Fame. He will join Kevin Lowe, who also graduated from Princeton in 1994, and the coach who recruited the two of them at a time when the Tigers were hardly a huge draw for future Hall-of-Famers, Bill Tierney.

Bacigalupo is among the greatest goalies ever to play the sport. He was a high school All-America at St. Paul’s in Baltimore, and he put together one of the most accomplished careers of any player in the history of college lacrosse.

During his time at Princeton, Bacigalupo would lead Princeton to a record of 52-8 and the 1992 and 1994 NCAA championships, the first two in school history. He would start all 60 of those games.

His individual achievements would include first-team All-America honors and the C. Markland Kelly Award as the national Goalie of the Year in 1992, 1993 and 1994, as well as first-team All-Ivy League honors as a freshman, sophomore and junior. His senior year would see him earn the Raymond Enners Award as the Division I Player of he Year, despite somehow being named second-team All-Ivy League.

Bacigalupo was at his best in big moments, and he was chosen as the Most Outstanding Player at the 1992 and 1994 NCAA tournaments. He made at least 15 saves in an NCAA tournament game on five separate occasions, including 20 against Towson in the 1991 quarterfinals and 19 against North Carolina in the 1992 semifinals.

He graduated with a school-record 732 career saves, a total 122 greater than the next highest total.

Lacrosse Magazine named him to its All-Century team, and he was also chosen in 1995 as a member of the NCAA tournament Silver Anniversary team.

The remaining members of the Class of 2010 will be Michael Burnett, Harry McNamara “Mac” Ford, Eleanor Keady Gaffney, Francesca Den Hartog, Jack Kaley, Bonnie Rosen and Mary McCarthy Stefano.

For more:  http://www.goprincetontigers.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=10600&ATCLID=204951124

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s