NCAA Lacrosse: Denver Women’s Lacrosse Coach Liza Kelly Announces Captains For 2012 Season

Seniors Melissa Maier (Farmingdale, N.Y.), Laura Connors (Manhasset, N.Y.) and Ashley Harman (Boyertown, Pa.), along with redshirt junior Kara Secora (Denver, Colo.) will serve as captains of the 2012 University of Denver women's lacrosse team, fourth-year head coach Liza Kelly announced today.

“I am excited to see this foursome lead us into the 2012 season,” Kelly said. “They all bring different personalities to the role of captain, which will both complement and push one another to reach their potential as team leaders.”

Maier stared all 16 games last season, recording 16 points on 13 goals and three assists. In her career, Maier has played 54 games with 47 starts.

“Maier is one of the hardest working players that I have ever coached,” Kelly said. “She is constantly striving to be her best both on and off the field.  You can’t help but want to work harder with Melissa next to you.”

Connors has played 20 career games, including 15 last season, and collected nine groundballs.

“Laura is a natural leader with the ability to change a game or practice with her voice and actions,” Kelly said. “She is always there for her teammates both on and off the field, and she is the heart of this team.”

A two-time selection to the All-Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Second Team, Harman is third on DU’s goalie record book in all-time goals against average with 10.11 per game.

“Ashley is the type of leader that is willing to be brutally honest with her teammates,” Kelly said. “She is passionate about Denver Lacrosse and is determined to make this team reach its potential.”

Secora has been voted All-MPSF First Team in each of the past two seasons. The midfielder ranked seventh in the nation in assists and 11th in points last season.  

“Kara has led us on the offensive end for the past two seasons,” Kelly said. “She is an incredibly smart player, who works hard to make everyone else around her better.”

The Pioneers return 17 players, including nine starters, from the 2011 squad that finished second in the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation regular season. All-MPSF selections Secora, Kate Henrich (Lansdale, Pa.), Alex Befus (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Harman, Jenn Etzel (Bel Air, Md.) and Lauren Ciccomascolo (Ladera Ranch, Calif.) return to this year’s lineup.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s