Monthly Archives: May 2012

Western High School Girls Lacrosse: Latest “Lacrosse Magazine” Rankings Features #1 La Costa Canyon Girls Lacrosse (CA) Followed By Air Academy (CO), Coronado (CA), Carondelet (CA) And Cherry Creek (CO)

1. La Costa Canyon (Calif.), 21-1 The Mavericks ran away from Poway (Calif.), 11-6, to win their fifth San Diego Section Division I championship. Bridget Grubb and Kiki Gibson each scored four goals for La Costa Canyon, whose only loss was to Coronado (Calif.), 10-5, on March 13. The Mavericks avenged that loss by beating the Islanders, 8-7, and finished the season with a 20-game winning streak.

2. Air Academy (Colo.), 19-2 The third-seeded Kadets upset top-seeded Cherry Creek (Colo.), 14-8 to win the Colorado girls lacrosse state championship for the second time in four years. Erin Todd led the way with six goals, and finished the season with 79.

3. Coronado (Calif.), 19-2 The top-seeded Islanders beat Canyon Crest (Calif.), 15-3, for their second consecutive San Diego Section Division II championship. Coronado’s Caroline Carlson led all scorers with four goals and two assists.

4. Carondelet (Calif.), 21-2 The Cougars won the NCS Division I championship with a 21-12 victory over Amador Valley (Calif.). Cali Castagnola led Carondelet with four goals, including three in a three-minute span in the first half, and added two assists.

5. Cherry Creek (Colo.), 17-2 The two-time defending champions fell short with a 14-8 loss to Air Academy (Colo.) in the state finals. Anya Gersoff finished with three goals and three assists and Bryn Bandt-Law also scored three goals. Cherry Creek has appeared in every championship game since the sport was sanctioned in 1998.

6. Kent Denver (Colo.), 15-3 The Sun Devils had their season end in the state semifinals with a heart-breaking 13-12 loss to eventual champion Air Academy (Colo.). It was the second consecutive year Kent Denver lost to Air Academy by a goal in the semifinals. Lucy Mower and Catherine Ellisled led the Sun Devils with three goals each.

7. Los Alamitos (Calif.), 18-2 The Griffins beat Palos Verdes (Calif.), 19-9, to capture their fourth consecutive US Lacrosse Southern Section championship. Keaton Otake scored four goals, while Jenny Lange added three.

8. Centaurus (Colo.), 13-5 The Warriors lost to Cherry Creek (Colo.) in the state semifinals for the second consecutive season. Emma Lazaroff had six goals and two assists in the 25-15 loss and she finished with 137 on the season.

9. Menlo School (Calif.), 18-4 The Knights extended their winning streak to 13 games and won their fourth consecutive West Bay Athletic League title with a 21-6 victory over Burlingame (Calif.). Michaela Michael led all scorers with seven goals and one assist. She finished her career as the school’s all-time leading scorer with more than 400 career points.

10. Marin Catholic (Calif.) 22-3 The Wildcats won the NCS Division II title with a 16-10 victory over Miramonte (Calif.) after falling short in the championship last season. Tory Salmon led Marin Catholic with five goals and K.C. Hill finished with four goals and three assists.

NCAA Lacrosse: Video Highlights Of Ohio State Men’s Lacrosse Win Over Air Force In Fifth-Annual “Showdown In The Shoe” On April 21

The Buckeyes defeated Air Force in the fifth-annual Showdown in the Shoe April 21, 2012 in Ohio Stadium.

Lacrosse In The Community: “Lacrosse The Nations” Featured At 2012 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Final Four Weekend (Video)

Former NCAA Lacrosse star Greg Bice tells us about his involvement with Lacrosse the Nations at the NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Final Four Weekend in Boston.

NCAA Lacrosse: Video Highlights Of Loyola Men’s Lacrosse (18-1) NCAA National Championship Win Over Maryland On May 28

The Loyola University Maryland men’s lacrosse team defeated the University of Maryland 9-3 to earn the school’s first Division I Championship. The Hounds finished the season 18-1 and captured the trophy at Gillette Field in Foxborough, MA.

NCAA Lacrosse: Video Highlights Of Northwestern Women’s Lacrosse 2012 NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Championship

Highlights of Northwestern lacrosse’s 2012 NCAA Championship win over Syracuse in Stony Brook, NY.  This video is copyrighted material property of Northwestern Athletics and

2012 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championships: Loyola Men’s Lacrosse Dominates Maryland 9-3 To Win School’s First National Title (Video)

The Loyola University Maryland men’s lacrosse team checked off a lot of firsts throughout the 2012 season, and the Greyhounds capped their magical season with another on Memorial Day at Gillette Stadium.

Loyola won its first-ever NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship and the first national title in the school’s Division I history. The Greyhounds set a record for fewest goals allowed in an NCAA Championship Game, defeating the University of Maryland, 9-3.

“I thought Saturday was a pretty cool day for the Greyhounds. But, today is special,” said Charley Toomeywho became the first coach to win an NCAA title in his first trip to the NCAA Semifinals. “When I look at my locker room, I’m just so proud of them. They’ve handled every situation with dignity and class this year. Coming back on short preparation to play a tough Maryland team, a physical Maryland team, they responded in a big way to give Loyola our first National Championship.”

Eric Lusby was named the Championship’s Most Outstanding Player after scoring four goals in the title game and setting a tournament record with 17 in four games. He also ends his season with a school-season record 54 goals, surpassing teammate Mike Sawyerwho set the record two games ago and finished the year with 52.

Four Greyhounds joined Lusby on the All-Tournament Team: Josh Hawkins, Joe Fletcher, Scott Ratliff and Jack Runkel.

2012 NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Championships: Northwestern Women’s Lacrosse Defeats Syracuse 8-6 To Win Seventh National Title

A determined and driven Northwestern women’s lacrosse team accomplished its ultimate goal and extended one of the most incredible dynasties in the history of college athletics, defeating No. 4 Syracuse, 8-6, Sunday night in Stony Brook to capture the program’s seventh national championship in the last eight years. Northwestern’s seven NCAA championships rank second all-time behind only the 10 won by Maryland between 1986 and 2010. The Wildcats received a go-ahead goal from Tewaaraton Award finalist Taylor Thorntonto break a 6-6 tie with 9:55 remaining and protected its lead down the stretch, wrapping up a 21-2 championship season. “To have such a great weekend and have executed our game plan and done so well all over the field, I’m just really proud of what these girls have done,” said head coach and architect of the NU program Kelly Amonte Hiller, who has now been part of nine NCAA championships in her playing and coaching career. “As a coach, you can try to encourage and inspire, but it’s the girls that do it on the field, and they were determined and they were really on a mission.”