Daily Archives: May 10, 2012

College Women’s Lacrosse: “2012 WCLA National Lacrosse Championships” Begin First Round With Three Upsets On May 9

There were three upsets on the opening day of the 2012 US Lacrosse Women’s Collegiate Lacrosse Associates National Championships, presented by Harrow Sports, at El Pomar Sports Park, but No. 6 seed Central Florida was not one of the victims. The Knights held on for a dramatic 11-10 victory over No. 11 BYU to move onto the quarterfinals for the first time in program history.

Division I First Round Scores from Wednesday, May 9
Colorado State 24, Oregon Club 4
UC Santa Barbara 20, Minnesota 12
Michigan 17, Virginia Club 7
Florida Club 11, Penn State Club 7
Santa Clara 18, Colorado 17
Central Florida 11, BYU 10
UC Davis Club 14, Texas 9
UCLA 13, Chapman 8

Schedule for Thursday, May 10 (All times Mountain)
10 am – DI Quarterfinal: No. 3 Michigan vs. No. 6 Central Florida
10 am – DI Quarterfinal: No. 2 UC Santa Barbara vs. No. 10 UC Davis Club
11 am – DI Quarterfinal: No. 4 Florida Club vs. No. 12 Santa Clara
11 am – DI Quarterfinal: No. 1 Colorado State vs. No. 9 UCLA

Western High School Boys Lacrosse: “Lacrosse Magazine” Ranks La Costa Canyon Boys Lacrosse (CA) #1 Followed By Arapahoe (CO), Torrey Pines (CA), St. Ignatius Prep (CA) And Issaquah (WA)

1. La Costa Canyon (Calif.), 19-1
The Mavericks put together one of the most impressive regular seasons in the program’s history. La Costa Canyon finished an undefeated season against in-state competition with a thrilling 8-7 victory over Torrey Pines (Calif.) in three overtimes and a 16-1 defeat of Fallbrook in the regular season finale. The Mavericks enter the CIF San Diego Section Division I playoffs as the team to beat. Their only loss this season came against one of the nation’s top teams, St. Anthony’s (N.Y.).

2. Arapahoe (Colo.), 16-0
The Warriors managed to remain undefeated in one of the most competitive lacrosse leagues on the West Coast. Arapahoe finished the regular season by handing Cherry Creek (Colo.) its only league loss of the season, 9-7. Arapahoe got a first-round bye in the playoffs and snuck past Heritage, 8-7, to advance. It will face Monarch on Saturday in the quarterfinals.

3. Torrey Pines (Calif.), 15-5
The Falcons bounced back from an 8-7 loss to La Costa Canyon (Calif.) with a convincing 16-3 victory over San Dieguito (Calif.). A second consecutive CIF championship would likely mean another showdown with the La Costa Canyon, who they knocked off last season in the playoffs as the four-seed.

4. St. Ignatius Prep (Calif.), 21-1
The Wildcats met high expectations by finishing the regular season with just one loss — a 10-9 setback against Torrey Pines (Calif.). St. Ignatius also won its third consecutive West Catholic Athletic league championship by beating Bellarmine (Calif.), 15-2. The Wildcats advance to the North Coast Section playoffs.

5. Issaquah (Wash.), 17-0
The Eagles remained undefeated with an 18-5 victory over Kings Way Christian (Wash.). Issaquah is looking to become just the second Washington boys’ lacrosse team since 2005 to finish the regular- and post-season undefeated.

6. Cherry Creek (Colo.), 13-3
The Bruins suffered their only loss in league to second-ranked Arapahoe (Colo.), 9-7, snapping a seven-game winning streak. After receiving a first-round bye in the playoffs, Cherry Creek topped surging Air Academy (Colo.) 15-2 in the round of 16 on Tuesday night.

7. San Ramon Valley (Calif.), 15-3
The Sea Wolves won their sixth consecutive game by beating Livermore (Calif.), 16-3, and Amador Valley (Calif.), 12-5. San Ramon Valley will try to capture the East Bay title by closing out the regular season against Monte Vista-Danville (Calif.), which won the April meeting between the teams 8-7.

8. Palos Verdes (Calif.), 19-2
The Sea Kings picked up a victory as the top seed in the Southern Section playoffs by dominating Peninsula (Calif.) 20-4. Palos Verdes then knocked off Malibu (Calif.) 10-6, and Loyola-Los Angeles 14-1 in the conference semifinals. It faces Palisades Charter (Calif.) on Wednesday.

9. Kent Denver (Colo.), 12-2
The Sun Devils shook off league losses to Arapahoe (Colo.) and Cherry Creek (Colo.) by surging into the playoffs with five consecutive victories. Kent Denver beat Steamboat Springs 17-3, a team that hadn’t lost since March 13. It moves on to face Regis Jesuit (Colo.) on Saturday in the quarterfinals.

10. Corona del Mar (Calif.), 22-0
The Sea Kings ended Foothill-Santa Ana’s five-year reign as league champions with 7-5 victory in the semifinals of the U.S. Lacrosse Division 1 South playoffs, advancing to the championship for the second time in three years. Corona del Mar will play for the championship against San Clemente (Calif.) on Wednesday.

NCAA Lacrosse: Video Preview Of Johns Hopkins Men’s Lacrosse First-Round Playoff Game Vs Stony Brook

The Johns Hopkins Blue Jays will host the Stony Brook Seawolves in the first round of the NCAA Tournament at Homewood Field.