NCAA Lacrosse: Stanford Women’s Lacrosse Top-Ranked In MPSF Preseason Coaches Poll Followed By Denver, USC, Oregon, Cal And San Diego State

MPSF Women's Lacrosse banner

Stanford collected 78 points and seven first-place votes in taking the top spot in the 2014 Preseason MPSF Women’s Lacrosse Coaches’ Poll for the fifth consecutive year. The eight-time and defending conference champion returns 11 of 12 starters, and 96 % of its scoring (260 of 272 goals) from last year’s second-round NCAA Tournament Team.

MPSF 2014 Preseason Poll

All-MPSF midfielders Anna Kim, Hannah Farr, Nina Swanson, and Lucy Dikeou return for the Cardinal, as does Rachel Ozer on attack.  Denver, another second-round NCAA Tournament participant, placed second in this year’s poll with 74 points and two first-place votes. The Pioneers put together a 15-game win streak last year and ran the table during the MPSF regular season. Jill Remenapp and Hannah Hook return, with the former leading the nation in assists (74) last year, and tying for the second-most single-season assists in NCAA history, and the latter ranking first nationally in saves (90) and third in save percentage (.514).

Stanford and Denver rank 14th and 16th respectively in the preseason IWLCA coaches’ poll. Taking third is USC with 66 points and one first-place vote. The Trojans come off five MPSF wins in their inaugural year of 2013, and reached the MPSF Semifinals. Every starter returns, including MPSF Rookie of the Year Amanda Johanson (MPSF record 100 draw controls), along with all-conference honorees Courtney Tarleton and Caroline de Lyra.

Oregon is fourth with 53 points, returning 10 starters, three of which picked up a second-team All-MPSF award last year (Shannon Propst, Carly O’Connell, and GK Caroline Federighi). California (47) and San Diego State (45) finished close together in the poll, and with six teams headed to this year’s MPSF Tournament, the coaches’ project both to be amongst the field.

UC Davis (34), Colorado (23), St. Mary’s (16) and Fresno State (14) rounded out this year’s preseason conference poll. The Buffalos will be in their inaugural year of competition. The 2014 season begins Feb. 9 when Oregon visits Stetson, while the first conference game is on Feb. 19 when Colorado makes its conference debut at Denver. The MPSF Championship Tournament is May 1-4 at Denver, with the champion receiving an NCAA Tournament Automatic Bid.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s