#20 Denver Women’s Lacrosse Faces #18 Stanford In 2014 MPSF Conference Title Game On May 4

MPSF Women's Lacrosse 2014 Championships

University of Denver seniors Jenn Etzel (Bel Air, Md.) and Meredith Harris (Middleburg, Va.) led the Pioneers with a combined 15 points, as DU upended Oregon 18-9 in the MPSF Semifinals on Friday afternoon. With the win, the Pioneers advance to the MPSF Championship for the second-consecutive year and sixth time in school history. Kyle Fraser scored six goals — one off the school record — to lead Stanford to a 15-6 victory over Colorado and a berth in the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation women’s lacrosse championship game. Denver is 1-0 against Colorado with a 15-4 victory at home earlier this year on Feb. 19. The Buffs are in their inaugural year of Division I women’s lacrosse. DU is 0-6 all-time against Stanford in the MPSF Tournament with five of those losses coming in the MPSF Championship game. Of Denver’s five championship appearances, four of the Pioneers’ losses have come by a single goal, including last year’s 7-6 loss on May 4, 2013 in Eugene, Ore. Additionally, Denver and Stanford the last time DU hosted the MPSF Tournament in 2010, with the Pioneers falling 11-10 in double-overtime on a sudden victory goal. The winner of the MPSF Tournament will earn an automatic berth in the NCAA Tournament. Selections for the NCAA Tournament will be announced Sunday at 7 p.m. MT.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s