Tag Archives: Academics

NCAA Men’s Lacrosse: Ohio State Men’s Lacrosse Has 10 Players Honored As “2011 Academic All-ECAC Lacrosse League”

A conference-high 10 Ohio State men’s lacrosse players were named to the 2011 Academic All-ECAC Lacrosse League team, the ECAC announced. To be eligible for the honor, student-athletes must have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.2 through at least four semesters/six quarters at their current school, must participate in at least 50 percent of his team’s games and be a significant contributor to the squad. In all, 36 conference student-athletes were named to the 2010-11 academic team.


The Buckeyes honored are Dominique Alexander, Eddie Bambino, Paul Beery, Jarred Bowman, Tyler Dolphin, Scott Lathrop, Kevin Mack, Logan Schuss, Patrick Toohey and Trey Wilkes. Alexander and Schuss are two of just three conference players to earn a spot on both the ECAC all-star and academic teams. Bowman and Dolphin are two of eight ECAC players honored with a GPA of at least 3.67. 

“We are very proud of these 10 men and the overall academic success of the 2010-11 team,” Nick Myers, Ohio State head coach, said. “We presented a challenge with specific academic goals at the beginning of the year and they exceeded every one of them. We look forward to building on that success as we enter the 2011-12 season and want to thank all those in SASSO for the tremendous support they provide to our men. “


All 10 Buckeyes selected were honored as Ohio State Scholar-Athletes, part of a program-best 28 players invited to the annual dinner. They all were also named to the Academic All-Big Ten team, given to letterwinners with a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA in at least their second year on campus. In all, 21 Buckeyes earned the accolade from the Big Ten. As a team, the Buckeyes reached their team goal with a cumulative GPA of over a 3.0, helped in part by a 3.22 GPA in winter quarter. That mark was one of the best in team history and tops among all men’s teams on campus with more than five players on the roster.


Beery, Bowman, Dolphin and Lathrop were all seniors for the Buckeyes in 2011. Beery, a business major and Ohio State’s 2011 Sportsmanship Award recipient, is a two-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete and Academic All-Big Ten selection. Bowman, an exercise science major, served as a team captain in 2011. He is a two-time ECAC All-Academic selection, along with a four-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete honoree and a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection. Bowman was a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar this year, an honor given to letterwinners in at least their second year on campus who post a 3.7 or greater GPA for the previous school year. Dolphin, a biology major, is a four-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete along with an Academic All-Big Ten choice and two-time Big Ten Distinguished Scholar.  Lathrop is a business major and was voted team captain for 2011.  He is a four-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete and three-time Academic All-Big Ten choice, along with a two-time ECAC All-Academic pick.


Bambino, a junior, is a Spanish major. This is his second ECAC academic award, while he is a three-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete and two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree.


Five members of the Buckeye sophomore class were named to the ECAC All-Academic Team. Alexander, a second team All-ECAC selection after the 2011 season, is a physical education major and a two-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete. Mack joins Alexander as a physical education major and two-time OSU Scholar-Athlete. Schuss, a two-time first team All-ECAC honoree who has led the Buckeyes in scoring each of his first two years, is a physical education major and two-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete. Patrick Toohey is an English major who is a two-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete. Wilkes, a business major, earned Ohio State Scholar-Athlete accolades for the first time in 2011.

NCAA Lacrosse: Denver Men’s Lacrosse Places Three Players On “2011 Academic All-ECAC Lacrosse League Team”

Juniors Cal Kennedy (Concord, Mass.) and Henry Miketa (Fort Collins, Colo.), and sophomore Kyle Hercher(Littleton, Colo.) were among 36 student-athletes selected to the 2011 Academic All-ECAC Lacrosse League team, Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Commissioner Rudy Keeling announced today.

In order to be selected to the team, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum 3.20 cumulative grade-point average through at least four semesters at his current institution, be a significant contributor to his team and have participated in at least 50 percent of his team’s games (33 percent of the minutes for goalies).

Kennedy, who finished the year with a 3.31 GPA, played in 13 games grabbing two ground balls and causing one turnover, while Miketa (3.56 GPA) played in 13 games finishing with two goals and four ground balls. Hercher (3.38) played in 13 games, starting in two, and grabbed eight ground balls, while causing three turnovers.

Western College Women’s Lacrosse: Stanford Women’s Lacrosse Honored As An “Academic Merit Squad” By The Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association

Stanford women’s lacrosse was one of three schools named an academic Merit Squad by the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association. Of the three Merit schools, only Stanford was a participant in the NCAA Tournament.

The schools that earned Merit Squad status from the IWLCA were Hofstra University, who topped all schools in Division I for the 2010 season with a 3.599 GPA, while Stanford (3.477) just edged Duke (3.471) to rank second. In addition, 48 other schools earned Academic Squad honors for the 2010 season.

Institutions were named Merit Squads by virtue of having one of the top three team GPAs for the season; every school with a team GPA of 3.0 or higher earned Academic Squad honors.

Of the 51 institutions, 10 participated in the NCAA championships, including runner-up Northwestern University and semifinalist Syracuse University.

Merit Squads


Academic Squads

Boston College
Detroit Mercy
Fresno State
George Washington
Holy Cross
La Salle
New Hampshire
Notre Dame
Old Dominion
Penn State
Robert Morris
Sacred Heart
Saint Mary’s
Virginia Tech
William & Mary