Tag Archives: Amtahcha Award

WCLA Lacrosse: US Lacrosse Announces “Amtahcha Award” For 2013 WCLA Women’s Player Of The Year, First And Second Team All-Americans

WCLA Lacrosse Banner

Hayley Bernstein of Colorado State and Laura Hunter of Utah were named as the recipients of the Amtahcha Award as the top player in their respective division of the US Lacrosse Women’s Collegiate Lacrosse Associates (WCLA). Both players were honored during ceremonies held on Wednesday evening.

WCLA 2013 Amtahcha Award Winners

Laura Hunter of Utah and Hayley Bernstein of Colorado State were named the winners of the Amtahcha Award.
Photo by Cecil Copeland

The Amtahcha Awards were established in 2012 by a gift from Dr. Larry Feldman, founder of LaxPower.com, to the US Lacrosse Foundation.

Bernstein, a two-time first team All-American, led Colorado State to a perfect 18-0 record in the regular season and the Rams are the No. 1 seed for the Division I national championships taking place in Colorado Springs this week. Hunter, a first team All-American midfielder, led Utah to the No. 2 seed in Division II for the national championships.

In addition to the Amtacha Award winners, the All-Americans and major award winners in each Division were honored. The complete list of honorees follows:

Division I – First Team
Brooke Smith – Senior – Brigham Young
Kristen Lund – Senior – Brigham Young
Grace Jackson – Senior – Virginia
Maddie Garcia – Senior – Colorado State
Ali Slyne – Sophomore – Colorado State

Maggie Burke – Senior – Santa Clara
Katie Mitchell – Senior – UC Santa Barbara
Hayley Bernstein – Senior – Colorado State
Julianne Patterson – Junior – Michigan
Tully Moorhead – Junior – Texas
Meggan Weinell – Senior – Cal Poly
Nicole White – Junior – Florida

Emily Bohanna – Junior – Virginia
Sarah Llewellyn – Senior – Texas
Kelly Arnhart – Junior – Georgia
Sarah Langlie – Senior – Colorado State
Abby Wattenbarger – Junior – Colorado State

Emily Seidel – Senior – Georgia
Megan McCleary – Junior – Brigham Young

Division I – Second Team
Karly Slyne – Senior – Colorado State
Murphy Ferguson – Junior – Georgia
Christa Nelson – Senior – Cal Poly
Jenna Dreyer – Sophomore – Georgia
Rachel English – Junior – Texas

Margaret Nettleton – Senior – UC Los Angeles
Maggie HerrNeckar – Sophomore – Westminster
Tara Benninger – Senior – Ohio State
Christa Lausten – Junior – Pittsburgh
Dana Kilsby – Sophomore – Santa Clara
Kaitlin Bahr – Senior – Texas
Sarah Moyer – Senior – Colorado State
Jenna Hildebrand – Senior – Florida

Jamee Jacobson – Senior – Michigan
Emilia Norlin – Junior – UC Santa Barbara
Robyn Dalton – Senior – Pittsburgh
Lindsay Higham – Senior – Florida
Cristen Shope – Senior – Oregon

Kelly Harris – Senior – Cal Poly
Jordan Cook – Senior – Texas

Division I Attacker of the Year – Maddie Garcia – Senior – Colorado State
Division I Midfielder of the Year – Maggie Burke – Senior – Santa Clara
Division I Defender of the Year – Sarah Llewellyn – Senior – Texas
Division I Goalie of the Year – Emily Seidel – Senior – Georgia
Division I Rookie of the Year – Alexandra Thalhuber – Freshman – Minnesota
Division I Coach of the Year – Gabe Valenzuela – Southern California
Division I Player of the Year – Amtahcha – Hayley Bernstein – Senior – Colorado State

Divison II – First Team
Desiree Messina – Junior – Oakland
Ally Rose – Sophomore – Loyola (Md.)
Katie Mincin – Sophomore – Gonzaga
Katie Baker – Junior – Oakland

Jaycee Slack – Junior – Gonzaga
Laura Hunter – Grad – Utah
Megan McCollough – Freshman – Santa Barbara City
Jordan Brown – Senior – Loyola (Md.)
Taylor Dunn – Sophomore – Utah

Meghan Sewell – Senior – Loyola (Md.)
Jackie Gamper – Junior – Southern Methodist
Kate Urquhart – Junior – Southern Methodist
Traci Shurtleff – Sophomore – Utah

Molly Burnett – Junior – Loyola (Md.)
Rachel Jurczyszyn – Sophomore – Grand Valley

Division II – Second Team
Haley Poulson – Junior – Utah
Brianna Johnson – Sophomore – Oakland
Sarah Milligan – Senior – Lake Forest
Kara Hogan – Junior – Grand Valley

Caroline Stapleton – Senior – Southern Methodist
Melissa Paluch – Freshman – Lake Forest
Erika Torres – Senior – Nevada-Reno
Erin Shamley – Sophomore – Lake Forest
Megan Ryan – Senior – Dayton

Andrea Almassey – Junior – Oakland
Nikki Hinkebein – Sophomore – Dayton
Samantha Miceli – Senior – Oakland
Sarah Jonathan – junior – Lake Forest

Lauren Pattah – Junior – Oakland
Katarina Hablet – Sophomore – Gonzaga

Division II Attacker of the Year – Desiree Messina – Junior – Oakland
Division II Midfielder of the Year – Jaycee Slack – Junior – Gonzaga
Division II Defender of the Year – Meghan Sewell – Senior – Loyola (Md.)
Division II Goalie of the Year – Molly Burnett – Junior – Loyola (Md.)
Division II Rookie of the Year – Megan McCollough – Freshman – Santa Barbara City
Division II Coach of the Year – Towbey Kassa – Oakland
Division II Player of the Year – Amtahcha – Laura Hunter – Grad – Utah

WCLA Lacrosse: US Lacrosse Announces The “2013 Amtahcha Award” Early Women’s Lacrosse Watch List For “Player Of The Year”

WCLA Lacrosse Banner2013 Amtahcha Award Women’s Watch List

 Division I
Hayley Bernstein, Colorado State, M
Maggie Burke, Santa Clara, M
Maddie Garcia, Colorado State, A
Jenna Hildebrand, Florida, M
Sarah Langlie, Colorado State, D
Sarah Llewelyn, Texas, D
Kristen Lund, Brigham Young, A
Katie Mitchell, UC Santa Barbara, M
Emila Norlin, UC Santa Barbara, D
Julianne Patterson, Michigan, M
Emily Seidel, Georgia, G
Brooke Smith, Brigham Young, A
Sara Tanabe, Colorado, A

 See more at: http://www.uslacrosse.org/TopNav/NewsandMedia/PressReleases/WCLAMCLAPlayeroftheYearWatchlists.aspx