Tag Archives: Goalie Of The Year

Major League Lacrosse: Denver Outlaws Goalie Jesse Schwartzman Voted “2013 Goalie Of The Year”; MLL Record Low 9.67 Goals Per Game

Denver Outlaws Jesse Schwartzman MLL Goalie Of The Year

Jesse Schwartzman has been named the Warrior MLL Goalie of the Year based on votes from the MLL’s coaches and general managers, the league announced on Friday.
“This award is a real honor,” Schwartzman said. “First of all I would like to thank the coaches and GMs who voted for me. A lot of credit goes to the guys in front of me, everyone talks about Matt Bocklet and Lee Zink but credit also goes to other defensemen like Chris O’Dougherty and Dillon Roy as well as short sticks like Justin Turri and Justin Pennington. Stan Ross has been unbelievable coaching the defense as well. It is a pleasure to be the back end of this defense.”
Schwartzman allowed just 9.67 goals per game to set a Major League Lacrosse record in that category this season. He led the league in nearly all goalie categories, leading the league in GAA, save percentage (.597), two-pointers allowed (3), wins (14) and ranked second with 184 saves.
The eighth-year goalie won three Defenseman of the Week honors this season, which represented the most individual weekly awards among all players in 2013.
Schwartzman lowered his career goals-against average to 11.3, which is tops among goalies in league history. He set club records in wins, goals-against average, save percentage and posted the second-highest save total in club history this season.
“Schwartzman was very good last year as well,” Head Coach Jim Stagnitta said. “This year it has been a pleasure to watch him. He has been consistent every game and I’ve never been around a goalie that has been that consistent game in and game out. He has showed that he has very good leadership skills and also excellent stick skills. You combine all of his great qualities and I think he’s the best goalie I’ve ever seen.”
Schwartzman’s award is the second Goalie of the Year accolade that he has earned in his career (2009) and is the second in the team’s history. Schwartzman’s honor is the third year-end award earned by the team this season, joining Stagnitta’s Coach of the Year Award and Drew Snider’s Most Improved Player of the Year Award. It marks the ninth year-end honor in club history.

Denver Outlaws 2013 Media GuideMajor League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse: MLL “Goalie Of The Year” Jordan Burke Of The Boston Cannons Warms Up At Historic Harvard Stadium (Video)

MLL Goalie of the year Jordan Burke of the Boston Cannons.

Major League Lacrosse (MLL): Boston Cannons Goalie Kip Turner (Virginia, ’07) Was Named MLL Goalie Of The Year (Video)

MLL Boston Canons Goalie Kip Turner was named 2010 Goalie Of The Year.

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, announced Friday that Boston Cannons goalie Kip Turner has been named as the 2010 Warrior Goalkeeper of the Year, according to MLL Commissioner David Gross. The award was based on the votes submitted by the head coaches and general manager of each of the League’s six teams.

Turner, a 2007 graduate of the University of Virginia, appeared in all 12 Cannons’ games this season, playing a total of 615:25 minutes. With a 7-2 record, he was a key component in leading the Cannons to an overall regular season record of 8-4 and the #1 overall seed in the MLL postseason.
Turner was named MLL Defensive Player of the Week three times for his performances in week 6 against the Chicago Machine when he recorded 21 saves on 31 shots on goal, week 9 against the Chesapeake Bayhawks when he recorded 20 saves, and during week 10 against the Toronto Nationals when he recorded 16 saves. He was also given Bud Light Game MVP honors for his performances against Chicago in week 6 and against Denver in week 11 when he helped the Cannons to a 16-5 win, in which they clinched the #1 spot at Championship Weekend presented by Warrior.
Completing his fourth season in Boston, Turner has a career GAA of 12.85 and a .595 save percentage.
All-Time MLL Goalkeepers of the Year
2001                Greg Cattrano, Baltimore Bayhawks
2002                Greg Cattrano, Baltimore Bayhawks
2003                Brian Dougherty, Long Island Lizards
2004                Greg Cattrano, Baltimore Bayhawks
2005                Chris Garrity, Boston Cannons
2006                Brian Dougherty, Philadelphia Barrage
2007                Brian Dougherty, Philadelphia Barrage
2008                Mickey Jarboe, Los Angeles Riptide
2009                Jesse Schwartzman, Denver Outlaws
2010                Kip Turner, Boston Cannons
Turner received a total of 32 points. Jesse Schwartzman of the Denver Outlaws received 25 points and Drew Adams of the Long Island Lizards received 20 points.
Turner will be in net on Saturday, August 21 as his #1 seed Boston cannons face the #4 seed Chesapeake Bayhawks at 12:00 PM ET. The game will be broadcast live on ESPN2. The winner will advance on to the Championship Game to face either the Denver Outlaws or the Long Island Lizards on Sunday, August 22 at 1:00 PM ET.
The 2010 Major League Lacrosse Championship Weekend Presented by Warrior takes place at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium, one of the nation’s premier athletic venues.   Tailgating is permitted for both Saturday and Sunday beginning 9:00 AM.  A number of great attractions will be featured in the fan zone on both days, the Warrior Lacrosse Chop Shop, musical performances by MAD PLANET, Bud Light Build-A-Bar, face painting and other activities for fans.
Tickets for the 2010 Championship Weekend presented by Warrior are still available. Complete MLL Championship Weekend packages which include tickets to all three playoff games start at just $30 and may be purchased by calling 866-MLL-TIXX or by visiting www.majorleaguelacrosse.com   Single day tickets will go on sale beginning Sunday, August 15 and will cost $20.