Tag Archives: National Championships

NCAA Lacrosse: ESPN Promotional TV Spot For “NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championships”

2012 MCLA Lacrosse Championships: Colorado State Men’s Lacrosse Dominates BYU 11-5 To Advance To Finals Against Cal Poly

From the opening quarter, it was all Colorado State (15-2) who completely dominated BYU, the defending national champions, 11-5, thanks mostly to the play of CSU attackman Austin Fisher, who factored in on eight of the Rams’ 11 markers on the evening, and a defense that smothered the Cougars. After feeling each other for the first five minutes, Fisher scored a pair of goals barely over a minute apart, with the second coming on an assist from Tim Taggart. Fisher returned the favor on the Rams third goal by sending a skip pass up to where Taggart ripped a shot stick-side high. Before the quarter was out, the lead bumped up to 4-0 after Dustin Grybinas finished a feed from Alex Devlin. The march continued in the second as Fisher started things off by completing his hat trick and then set up Sean Smith for bomb high on the left side to balloon the advantage to 6-0.
“The defense just kept giving us the ball, which is nice,” said Fisher, who finished with five goals and three assists. “And our offense was really moving well and working for each other. I was getting looks because our middies and attackmen were working so hard.” “Austin is tough to guard because he’s not the type of guy who goes to the cage a lot,” said Smith. “He’s really good in a lot of different situations. A lot of times he has missed those goals he buried tonight, and that’s the sign of a mature player.”

NCAA Lacrosse: Video Preview Of Johns Hopkins Men’s Lacrosse First-Round Playoff Game Vs Stony Brook

The Johns Hopkins Blue Jays will host the Stony Brook Seawolves in the first round of the NCAA Tournament at Homewood Field.

MCLA Lacrosse National Championships: Chapman Men’s Lacrosse Is Ranked #6 Heading Into 1st Round Game Against #11 Oregon On May 14 (Video)

MCLA Lacrosse Releases National Championship Brackets For Tournment May 14-19

NCAA Div I Men’s Lacrosse Tournament First-Round Features #1 Loyola Vs Canisius, #2 Johns Hopkins Vs Stony Brook, #3 Duke Vs Syracuse And #4 Notre Dame Vs Yale On May 12-13

Loyola was named the No. 1 overall seed in the 16-team NCAA Division I men’s lacrosse tournament on Sunday night, and Baltimore neighborhood rival Johns Hopkins wasn’t far away on paper either, coming in seeded right behind the Greyhounds at No. 2. ACC champion Duke is the third seed, followed by fourth-seeded Notre Dame. Virginia, undefeated UMass, Patriot League champ Lehigh and North Carolina round out the top eight for the tournament, which begins at noon Saturday when Duke hosts Syracuse in Durham, N.C. Denver, Princeton and Colgate grabbed at-large bids from the selection committee along with the four ACC teams and Johns Hopkins and Notre Dame. The Pioneers and Tigers, who lost to Yale in the Ivy League championship game on Sunday, were presumably the last teams in.

NCAA Division I Men’s Tournament First-Round Games

Saturday, May 12 (All times Eastern)

Syracuse (9-7) at No. 3 Duke (13-4), Noon

Colgate (13-3) at No. 6 UMass (15-0), 2:30 p.m.

Canisius (6-7) at No. 1 Loyola (14-1), 5 p.m.

Denver (8-6) at No. 8 North Carolina (11-5), 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, May 13

Princeton (11-4) at No. 5 Virginia, 1 p.m.

Stony Brook (7-9) at No. 2 Johns Hopkins (11-3), 3 p.m.

Yale (11-4) at No. 4 Notre Dame (11-2), 5:15 p.m.

Maryland (9-5) at No. 7 Lehigh (14-2), 7:30 p.m.

NCAA Lacrosse: The “2013 NCAA Div I Women’s Lacrosse National Championships” Looks To Expand To 24 Teams From 16

The NCAA Division I women's lacrosse tournament could expand from 16 teams to 24 as soon as spring 2013, according to report Thursday by The Baltimore Sun.

In 2012, there will be 92 women’s lacrosse teams competing in Division I. In 2013, the sport is expected to reach 101 participants with the addition of Southern California, Marquette, Delaware State, Coastal Carolina, Winthrop, Stetson, Campbell and Kennesaw State. In 2014, Mercer (Ga.) University’s team will debut with Colorado, and in 2015, Furman (S.C.) University’s varsity team will debut.

The expansion has been approved by the Division I championship and sports management cabinet, but must pass through several layers of approval, including the budget committee, before it becomes reality.

The reason for the proposed expansion, according to NCAA associate director or championships and alliances D’Ann Keller, is to make sure all conferences that are eligible to receive an automatic qualifying bid to the tournament are actually getting an AQ in the tournament. Currently, only five conference winners – from the ACC, Big East, ALC, America East and Ivy League – automatically make the field. The other six AQs advance to play-in games.

An NCAA bylaw states that 50 percent of the bracket must be filled with at-large bids, forcing some automatic qualifiers to play play-in games to get into the 16-team field. And with the growing number of Division I programs over the next couple of years, the number of conferences with automatic qualifiers could increase, leading to potentially more play-in games if the bracket is not expanded.

For more:  http://www.laxmagazine.com/blogs/author/mclaughlin/02.23.2012_at_5.55_p.m._by_Corey_McLaughlin