Tag Archives: Playoffs

National Lacrosse League: NLL To Reduce Teams Qualifying For Playoffs To Six With Finals And Semifinals Expanded To Two-Game Series

NLL Playoffs Expansion

Championship & Semifinals expand to two-game series, Minnesota to East The National Lacrosse League today formally announced a new and expanded playoff format along with division realignment, both set to begin with the upcoming 2014 NLL season. The league will reduce the number of teams who qualify for the playoffs from eight to six teams, featuring the top three clubs in each division’s standings. The two regular season division champions will earn a first-round bye as top seeds. The second seed will host the third seed in their respective division for the single-game elimination Division Semifinal in the first round. New to the postseason format, the Division Finals and Championship both expand to a two-game series from the previous single-game elimination setup. The top seed from each division will play the winner of the Division Semifinal game between the second and third seeds, with the lower-seeded team hosting the first game and the higher seed hosting the second game of the series. Teams who win both games shall win the two-game series. In the event of a series split with both teams winning one game, a 10-minute tiebreaker game will be played immediately following the conclusion of the second contest to determine the winner of the playoff series. Coinciding with the new postseason format, the league’s divisions will realign this season as the Minnesota Swarm join the Buffalo Bandits, Philadelphia Wings, Rochester Knighthawks and Toronto Rock in the new five-team East Division. The four-team West Division will be comprised of the Calgary Roughnecks, Colorado Mammoth, Edmonton Rush and Vancouver Stealth. The new playoff format was made official when the league recently reached an accord with the Professional Lacrosse Players’ Association for a new seven-year Collective Bargaining Agreement through the 2020 NLL season. The 2014 NLL regular season begins on Saturday, Dec. 28.

National Lacrosse League NLL Banner

Major League Lacrosse: “2014 MLL Championship Weekend” Changed To A Single Final Game; Top Two Teams To Host Semifinal Playoff Games

Major League Lacrosse 2014 Championships

Major League Lacrosse, the premier outdoor lacrosse League, announced key dates for the 2014 season including a change to the playoff format.
New next season will be a change in the playoffs with Championship Weekend moving to a single final game.
“We have decided to change the format next year to reward the fans and the teams with the better record and allow them to host a playoff game in front of their home crowds,” said MLL Commissioner David Gross. “This will ensure that the top two teams in the League have a true home field advantage.”
2014 will begin with the Collegiate Draft being held in Philadelphia, Pa., on Friday, January 10, at the US Lacrosse National Convention, presented by Champion. MLL coaches and general managers will descend on the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown to select the best college players to beef up their rosters.
Fans won’t have to wait long after that to see their favorite teams play as the regular season will begin the weekend of April 26 and end the weekend of August 9.
The semifinal rounds will be played the weekend of August 16 at the home of the two higher seeds, giving the two teams with the best season record a home field advantage, and rewarding their fans with a playoff game.
The Championship Game will be played August 23 at a location to be announced at a later date.

Major League Lacrosse

San Diego High School Lacrosse: 2011 CIF San Diego Boys Lacrosse Championship Features Torrey Pines Boys Lacrosse Vs Poway In Championship Game On May 21

Southern California High School Lacrosse: CIF-Southern Section Boys And Girls Lacrosse Championship Finals Feature Redondo Union Girls Lacrosse Vs Los Alamitos And Foothill Knights Boys Lacrosse Vs Mira Costa On May 14

MCLA Lacrosse: 2011 National Championship Tournament Awaits Completion Of Conference Playoffs That Began On May 1

Southern California High School Lacrosse: CIF-Southern Section Boys Lacrosse Championships Begin May 3; Foothill Knights Boys Lacrosse Seeded #1 Followed By St. Margaret’s, El Toro And San Clemente


Illinois High School Boys Class-A Lacrosse Playoff Highlights: New Trier Boys Lacrosse (20-3) Defeated Naperville North 16-3 June 1st On Way To State Championship (Video)